Transition House Auxiliary Board from left to right:
Anna Ylvisaker – Treasurer
Mimi Veyna – Vice President
Florence Michel – President
Diane White – Secretary
Pita Khorsandi – Membership
Jean Keely – Publicity

Diane White
Mad Hatter 2024 Chair

The Transition House Auxiliary was organized in 1993 to assist by raising funds for on-going programs at Transition House and to provide direct assistance to clients. The members’ work supports children and their families experiencing homelessness in making successful transitions to housing and financial stability.

The needs of infants and children are of particular interest and concern to Auxiliary members. Funding is provided for special needs in the Infant Care Center at Transition House as well as teens to attend counseling or camp. Each fall, students are provided with backpacks filled with essential school materials to ensure that they begin the school year on an equal footing with their classmates.

The Auxiliary also provides scholarships for study and career development by helping with tuition costs, books, uniforms and special equipment for clients. For families moving from the shelter into apartments, the Auxiliary provides assistance with basic household items.

The Auxiliary hosts their signature fundraising event in the spring, the Mad Hatter Luncheon, as well as other small fundraising events during the year. Members are always available to help with other Transition House requests.

The Transition House Auxiliary meets on the third Tuesday of each month.  To learn more about the Auxiliary or how to join, email Pita Khorsandi Membership. The Auxiliary welcomes prospective members as guests to their monthly meetings to learn more about Transition House’s work in the community and how Auxiliary activities support the agency.

To learn more about the Transition House Auxiliary visit them at

Presentation of proceeds for the 2023 Mad Hatter Luncheon: Left to right –
Jean Keely (Auxiliary Publicity), Kellie Topar (Transition House Development), Gina Whitefoot (Transition House Associate Director), Florence Michel (Auxiliary President), Diane White (Mad Hatter Chair)